Need advice for my specific machine: New more graphical power!

rmthompson

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2006
Hey guys, I am a photographer who uses CS5 Photoshop a lot. While I don't use a lot of video files, I am noticing a significant slowdown when using Photoshop for more than an hour.

ALSO - while previously I was able to play games like Counterstrike:SOURCE, and a "can you run it" score that was higher than recommended for Star Wars: KOTOR, I couldn't even get it to reach 1FPS!

SO - I think I need a new Graphics card, and/or a RAM upgrade. Is it even worth to upgrade, or should I not even bother?

HERE is my system:

HP A6700y
Rating 5.0 Windows Experience Index
AMD Phenom 9150e Quad-Core Processor 1.80Ghz
4GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT

Advice?

rmthompson

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2006
Rest is all standard, what came with machine:

MOTHERBOARD:
Manufacturer: ECS
Form factor: microATX - 24.4 cm (9.6 inches) x 24.4 cm (9.6 inches)
Chipset: NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
Memory sockets: 4 x DDR2
Front side bus speeds: 2000MT/s (2.0 GT/s)
Processor socket: AM2+
Expansion Slots:
1 PCI Express x16 slot for graphics card
2 PCI Express x1 slots
1 PCI slot

Memory
4 GB
Amount: 4 GB
Speed: PC2-6400 MB/sec
Memory upgrade information
Dual channel memory architecture
Four 240-pin DDR2 DIMM sockets
Supported DIMM types:
PC2-5300 (667 MHz)
PC2-6400 (800 MHz)
Non-ECC memory only, unbuffered
Supports 2GB DDR2 DIMMs
Supports up to 8 GB on 64 bit PCs
Supports up to 4 GB* on 32 bit PCs

300W power supply

Regarding KOTOR, the near non-existent performance is probably due to the fact that it is not compatible with Win 7. There is a fix for for it somewhere on the web though. I recall playing it with a Radeon 9250 back when it 1st came out. The nVidia 9400GT is definitely more powerful than that card.