Good CPU for home PC

Peanut92

Honorable
Sep 12, 2012
Hi,

I am looking into building a new home PC since I only have a 4 year old laptop at the moment. I have been looking at other threads to try and get ideas on what a good build would be since I've never done one before, most of the threads are based on gaming computers though. The computer would mainly be used for web surfing, watching movies, school programs (AutoCad, AutoDesk, Cscape and things like that) and maybe a little gaming but lower end things. What CPU would you suggest for a lower budget build, say $700 for the whole build and up to $180 for the CPU (pricing flexible)? I think once I have a CPU in mind I can do more research into parts to get a build idea together which I can then ask about ^^

I've heard Intel will be releasing a new chip this year and assume once this happens CPU pricing will change, I only plan on buying after this and the Windows 8 release occurs (incase that would affect your suggestion).

Thanks for any suggestions.

Peanut92

Honorable
Sep 12, 2012

I've no idea what the Trinity APUs is, it is something I will look into thanks.

Peanut92

Honorable
Sep 12, 2012
It says the chip could possibly be priced around $130 (same as a current i3) and outperform it. I will take your suggestion and look into the APU when it has been released.

Thanks for the advice and quick answer.

Peanut92

Honorable
Sep 12, 2012
I am just scoping out options so just knowing about it I can now research into it, I'm looking at benchmark results now to see how it is performing and comparing to Intel chips. I want to balance performance with cost.

DarthScabrous

Honorable
Jun 26, 2012
For performance vs costs, these APUs are king for what they do. They provide more then enough power and performance for a home pc build. If you were looking for heavy gaming, I would have recommended something stronger.