chelseabluerockers

Honorable
Apr 1, 2012
I have a 8400gs GPU with no fans on it. I've been using this card for 6-8 months or so. I've never encountered problems of overheating or so. I regularly clean off my PC and free it off from dust. However when I cleaned it this time and noticed the temps on SpeedFan (Utility to check temps of the units on the MoBo) the GPU was very very high. The processor temps were just 50-60 which was normal but the GPU shoots upto 90-100 C. Can you guys help me? I've never overclocked my GPU.
Guys, I've been using this for 8-10 months. I have never encountered such problems in the past. But this problem started to appear when I cleaned my PC. Help me out guys! Please.! Help mE!

Solution
The front chassis fan not working is likely the source of your problem.
To get hot air out of the case, it is essential that it be working.
A front fan should be set to draw in fresh air. The openings in the case at the rear will exhaust the hot case air.
Sometimes there is room to add an exhaust fan to help with this.

Do not count on the PSU fan for any case cooling. It is set up to only protect itself.

The cpu fan's job is to get heat off of the cpu chip, and that seems to be OK. But the front fan is essential to getting heat out of the case by drawing in cooler air.
If that does not happen, the cpu fan and the gpu will only get heated air to work with.

As a short term fix, run without the side panel.

First, make certain...
Sounds like you have accidentally dislodged the GPU heatsink.
If it's fanless it should come off easily enough just a few (obvious?) points:
You'll need to get some thermal paste and cleaning materials first, most computer stores carry both.
Do the job in a box, a shoebox is good, that way everything that comes off stays in one, secure place.