Incredibly unsure, worried, new builder.

jjesco5

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2012
Hi,

I am a first time builder, and a full time worrier/nervous freak.
I am looking to build a computer for moderate gaming, like medium/high setting for non hardcore games, WoW, LoL, Portal series, half life, and others of the like.
Currently I am planning on using these parts (below) but I am still really worried about bottlenecking/spending too much for bad products. *Also I am trying to keep this at or below $875.

i5 2500k
Thermaltake CLP0600
EVGA GTX 550/EVGA GTX 460 superclocked*
ASUS P8Z77-V LK*
Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x 4GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz
OCZ Agility 3 Series Solid State Drive - 60GB
Western Digital Caviar Blue Hard Drive - 500GB
Corsair Enthusiast Series TX550M Modular Power Supply - 550W, 80 Plus Bronze, Single +12V Rail
Rosewill RNX-N300X IEEE
ASUS DVD Burner... (crapton more stuff)
Cooler Master Silent Fan 120 (4 pack)
Cooler Master HAF 912

*is where im really unsure about price/performance

any advice? and is there a big difference if I order from Compusa.com over Newegg.com? the prices are a little low at compusa.

anxiousinfusion

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2011
Rosewill RNX N300X... Make sure you use the latest drivers for that little ah heck. Even the ones that come on-disc are seemingly faulty. I'm pretty sure it had been causing me micro-stutters for weeks.

I'm not saying don't get it, just make the most recent drivers a priority.

coper210

Distinguished
Nov 19, 2011
you do not need to get a 4 pack of fans, The case already comes with a front fan and a back exhaust fan so all I would do is get one fan and install it on the top of the case because that is all you are going to need and also you should get this motherboard since you are on a budget and you do not need a z77 board because you do not have ivy bridge.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157271