Is it my monitor or my gpu?

Last week after the bf3 update I started to notice that when joining the game the game would move 3x faster than normal. Not only that but there were white horizontal lines appearing randomly all over the screen. Naturally i blamed it on the patch. But ever since I have started to notice that sometimes while not playing games there appears a black line about 1/4 from the bottom of the screen. Yesterday, I started playing cc again . A game that isn't all that great on graphics and everything ran just fine for a while but after my 3rd round or so i got the speeding error along with the horizontal white lines. I didn't want to leave the game so I just alt+ tabbed it and somehow that fixed it. That however doesn't fix it on bf3.

Anyways, the card is a 7950 and the monitor is some asus with 3d capabilities and 120 refresh rate. idk which one of the 2 is the problem.
17 answers Last reply
More about monitor
  1. Easy to find out which is the cause, try the monitor with another PC. If it does the same thing, it's the monitor.

It's probably the card though, try either upgrading or downgrading the drivers. If you have it overclocked at all, try it as stock speeds. Or possibly even UNder clock it a bit.
  2. xtremeclowny said: