Entirely New Build - Won't stay on; Worried it's the liquid cooling

jsorensen

Honorable
Jun 2, 2012
This is my first build, all parts are brand new. I installed everything (realized after a bit of reading that maybe I shouldn't have). I have a computer toolkit, had my anti-static band on every moment with the parts.

When I turn it on, lights come on (LED's on the front fan and PSU, and the power indicators, including on the mobo itself) most fans turn on, for about 10 seconds. Then everything powers back down and off (not a hard shutoff like when you lose power); then it resets and does it all again. Nothing comes on the monitor (light stays orange) and it never makes it to bios. It does not make any beeps.

Parts installed:
CPU - Intel i5 2600k
Motherboard - MSI Z77A-GD55
RAM - Corsair 16GB (2x8) DDR3 XMS3
CPU cooler - Corsair H100 Liquid Cooling*
Video Card - MSI N550GTX Ti, 1GB GDDR5
Power Supply - Corsair GS800W
Hard drive(s) - Corsair Force Series 120GB SSD
Case - Cooler Master CM690 Advanced II
LG Super Multi Blu-ray drive

Of note, the H100 comes with two fans, one of which I plugged into the CPU slot. The other one, plugged directly into the cooler, is the only thing that does not turn on in at least 3 of the 4 fan slots. Also, the mobo has LED lights that indicate the power flow to the CPU - these all fully light up as they should.

I've double-checked everything on this thread http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-perform-steps-posting-post-boot-video-problems, in order, except for the breadboarding - I don't have time to do something like that until Sunday and I don't know what qualifies as an insulated surface.

Also, I did not install the heat sink, since I bought the H100, and I'm wondering if that isn't the problem.

Looking for any help or hints, before I take it all apart again on Sunday. Thank you for your time.