Sign in with
Your question

Long term PC builder stumped.

Last response: in Systems
June 2, 2012 4:24:20 PM

Good afternoon ladies and gentlemen. I've been an avid PC builder for about 15 years and a gamer longer than I can remember. I have a recent build that has me stumped pretty bad. Last December I put a friend of mine together an amazing piece of machinery, I'll post the specs below. The problem is, he complains about intermittent freezes. I've had it at my house 3 times and cannot replicate it. Another one of my IT friends has tried to fix it to no avail. I'm just at a loss. So here I am. I'm thinking at this point that it might have something to do with the RAM timings or voltage or possibly needing a beefier power supply.

Here are the specs:

Intel Core i7 2600k 3.40Ghz (LGA1155)
Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3
Coolmax ZP-1000B 80 Plus Bronze PSU
MSI Twin Frozr II/OC Radeon HD 6950 2GB GDDR5
MSI Twin Frozr II/OC Radeon HD 6950 2GB GDDR5 (CrossfireX)
WD Caviar 500GB SATA 3GB 7200RPM 16MB
WD Caviar 500GB SATA 3GB 7200RPM 16MB
OCZ 30GB Nocti SATA II mSATA SSD
Thermaltake Armor A90 Chassis
Windows 7 Home Premium System Builders OEM

The memory I'm having trouble locating the invoice for, I'm going to guess and say it's 8GB of Corsair DDR3-1600. I'll contact my friend and see if he ordered it under his account or not.

The hard drives are configured in a striping array with the 30GB mSATA drive as a cache drive using Intel's storage technology drivers.