jrgray93

Honorable
Aug 4, 2012
I will be purchasing headphones soon and was wondering if I needed to buy a sound card to get the best out of them. I have already picked out a card at my spending limit but would rather not have to buy it at all after spending $115 on these headphones.

Headphone specs:
http://www.audio-technica.com/cms/headphones/57a64f4a9fdbefd9/index.html

Current on-board audio specs:
http://www.realtek.com.tw/products/productsView.aspx?Langid=1&PFid=28&Level=5&Conn=4&ProdID=44

Audio card specs:
http://www.asus.com/Multimedia/Audio_Cards/Xonar_D1/#specifications

Solution
The ATH-M50s will need a soundcard to get the best out of them, without a doubt.

The best soundcard options that don't break the bank would be the ASUS Xonar DG(X) and ASUS Xonar D1/DX.

jrgray93

Honorable
Aug 4, 2012
I've read that it is typically the case, but my motherboard is a pretty cheap one. As far as I can tell, it seems that the quality would improve, but only slightly. I'm no expert on audio, as this is my first crack at it. I'm just wondering if the difference would really be noticeable.

As far as I know, yes, a cheap sound card will sound 10x better than on-board especially if you have a nice pair of headphones - which you do.

My HTPC has a cheap Biostar motherboard doesn't have the best of sound, I popped in a cheap $30 ASUS Xonar sound card and the difference was massive :lol:

jrgray93

Honorable
Aug 4, 2012

My plan is to get the headphones and see if I am satisfied with the quality before moving on to a sound card. I specifically became interested in better sound quality because of a particular band (Wintersun) finally releasing an album that was held back for many years, due to technical limitations of hundreds of tracks per song. It sounds like it will be an amazing experience with a lossless format and good sound quality.