What to upgrade when haswell comes out?

G

Hi guys. Im planning to upgrade my proc/mobo as i feel its on the blink and dying soon(had some thermal throttle problems earlier and i let it run far too long before acting on it).(im a com noob and was only alerted by a friend of mine about my paste drying off) :cry:

Im on an i7-870 along with a P-55A-G55 and GTX-670(just bought) configuration in a CM 690 2 basic currently and im not sure what mobo config/cpu config should i get when haswell is released.

Thanks!

There is no knowing what Haswell will bring us in terms of motherboards. Best come back when it's time for the upgrade :)

As for your thermal paste replacement, have you done that already? If not, I would recommend you to do so ASAP. While we're on the subject, it is unlikely that you would have shortened the life of your CPU by a significant margin even if you were experiencing throttling. After all, there was a reason why your CPU was throttling, to prevent itself from overheating any further :)

personally, i think the advancements on haswell are going to be minimal. the next big step computer wise is when pci-e 2.0 becomes fully saturated, and DDR4 ram becomes standardized. But who knows, can Intel pull off the 10% performance gain over ivy bridge on the same size fabrication process on top of their doubling of IGPU power. only time will tell.

G

Hmm. When is haswell gonna be launched? i read from some places where they say tablets and laptops are gonna be launched first.. followed by desktop versions. :cry:

Are the current ivy bridge mobos compatible with haswell chips?

Yup, i've changed the paste along with adding a hyper 212 evo heatsink.Turns out the stock intel cooler also isnt enough to beat the heat. i let the thermal throttle run for a couple of months.. i think about 6-7 months top.. hitting 90+degs constantly and BSOD/shutdowns before my friend alerted me. I didnt know. :cry: