Sign in with
Your question

Advice on New ssystem

Last response: in Systems
June 3, 2012 8:20:54 PM

I'm working on piecing together a new desktop system. Aside from basic computer usage I play less demanding games such as Diablo 3, but I also write software for a living so I need a faster CPU. I chose an Ivy Bridge Core i7, and am selecting the rest of the hardware around that.

I don't really need help putting together the whole system, primarily I am looking for advice with the CPU/mobo/RAM. Those are the most important components and the most annoying/expensive to upgrade later on.

Here is what I have so far:

Intel Core i7-3770S Ivy Bridge 3.1GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 65W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I73770S
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

GIGABYTE GA-H77-DS3H LGA 1155 Intel H77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Kingston HyperX Blu 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX

Any ideas, suggestions, critiques?

More about : advice ssystem

June 3, 2012 8:32:10 PM

zafkiller9999 said:
What is your budget?

I don't have a strict budget but would like to avoid wasting money. I'm already at $477.30 with shipping and would like to avoid spending much more than that unless there is a compelling reason.
Related resources
June 3, 2012 9:03:56 PM