Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Should i have 6 gigs or ram for gaming on windows 7 64 bit

Last response: in Windows 7
January 17, 2010 6:40:05 AM

I am a noob at system use but from what i gather on my system monitor it says the system is using 95 to 97 percent when I am gaming. I am using windows 7 64 bit os with 4 gigs of ram
a b 4 Gaming
January 17, 2010 7:15:02 AM

Most games won't use more than 2 gigs for the game anyway (part of being 32 bit compatible).

But if you have a triple channel ram motherboard and you're only using two slots you might want to add a third. It might speed up your machine by a percent or two.
Score
January 17, 2010 1:31:22 PM

im runnung games perfectly fine with 4GB of DDR2 1066 ram. no problems (games like FARCRY2, Modern Warfare 2, Crysis , Crysis warhead, Oblivion, STALKER, etc)
Score
Related resources
January 18, 2010 6:19:45 AM

Hey guys sorry, I noobin at this but I got a 790i ultra mobo with 4 gigs of ddr3 ram with windows 7 64 bit runnin. I just dont get it I hoverin around 97 percent then it starts to temperarily lock up. Thats why I was wondering if I should add another 2 gigs to try and help it out.
Score
a b $ Windows 7
January 18, 2010 6:32:32 AM

Sounds like you need to check what's running at startup and do a proper AV scan!
Have a proper clean up. Remove temp files, uninstall unused programs, Have a good mooch in msconfig.

May aswell do a defrag after that too.
Score
January 18, 2010 6:37:41 AM

There must be something that eats up your RAM in the background. Have you checked what programs are currently running?

Personally, I also have 4GB of RAM and it rarely goes up to 70% while I'm gaming.
Score
January 18, 2010 2:05:39 PM

K guys will do! I changed windows to basic config for best performance, and I will check to see whats running in back ground. Thxs guys
Score
a b $ Windows 7
January 18, 2010 2:20:47 PM

How much RAM is on your video card? This can affect how much of your physical memory is being used.