Sign in with
Your question
Solved

New system blue screens and other stuff.

Last response: in Systems
June 5, 2012 3:39:42 AM

to start off, i got my new comp all put together about the middle of last month, everything works Great, but recently ive had a string of blue screens. :(  today i got 2, one when i was afk and one about 2 minutes ago. the one i saw said something about memory management. any ideas what can be causing this?

My second problem is that the motherboard seems to show the Bios screen twice. (ill post a vid to youtube if i remember xD) again any ideas what would cause this? this is my first build and im new to all this.
Background info:

Overclocking: NO
Sli/crossfire: NO
SSD Boot drive: YES

System Specs:

Mobo: ASUS: Sabertooth z77
CPU: Intel i5 2500k (no overclock)
GPU: EVGA GTX560Ti 448
SSD: Ocz Vertex 4
RAM: PNY 16GB (4gbx4) 1600 speed
PSU: XFX 750watt 80+silver
Windows 7 Home (OEM)
June 5, 2012 4:03:07 AM

When your loading hit F8. That should take you to a menu that will allow you to change the option of auto restart on failure. That way you can at least see what the error code is.

On a side note, what was the purpose of your build? You have a very odd group of components.
m
l
June 5, 2012 4:07:16 AM

3ed blue screen... ok ill change those settings. EDIT: F8 took me to a boot menu, i did not see a auto restart on failure.

I needed a gaming/video editing/CAD system for under $1500
m
l
Related resources
a c 82 B Homebuilt system
June 5, 2012 4:33:49 AM

Do you have 1.5v RAM? What timings?
m
l
June 5, 2012 4:35:20 AM

1.65V
Timing:
9-9-9-24
m
l

Best solution

June 5, 2012 4:47:21 AM

So many people do this. With a Sandy or Ivy Bridge system you need 1.5v RAM. The memory controller is on the CPU and going over specified voltage will void the CPU warranty and can actually damage the chip. 1.65v DDR3 is old first generation stuff. Going over spec will cause all kinds of blue screen and instability issues.