Lower FPS than expected with HD4770.

dandog96

Honorable
Apr 6, 2012
Hi, I'm new to the forum and had a quick question. I recently bought a ATI Hd 4770 so I could game a bit on a lower budget. It set me back $50, which I think is reasonable. All was going well till I started playing games :( . The problem is I have much lower frame rates than one would expect with similar hardware. My whole setup is a 400 watt power supply, 2.5gb of DDR2 ram, a Core 2 Duo e6300 cpu and the mentioned video card. And I am running a low resolution too, only 1366x768. I get about 18 fps average in GTA IV on medium settings with fairly low drawing distances and such, while on Youtube I see people with 8800gt`s getting about 30 fps or more with a very similar setup as mine. And theoretically my card should be about 20% better than the 8800gt. While in Need for Speed Shift, something weird happens, I get around 24 fps on medium with no Antistropic (is that what it`s called?) filtering, and the same fps (slightly lower) with everything on high and 16x filtering which confuses me. I am running the latest ATI drivers on windows 7 x32, but was getting the same fps with a x64 bit operating system. Another thing is can somebody explain why the aero effects don`t turn off when I enter a game? Thank You.

loanstar744

Honorable
Apr 6, 2012

Sounds just like my old setup except it has a single core AMD Sempron 3300+ 1.8GHz CPU and a AMD Sapphire Radeon HD 5570 Low-Profile in it. You should uninstall all of your AMD drivers and run a registry cleaner like the one in Glary Utilities then do the following posted here and run this program: http://www.guru3d.com/category/driversweeper/

Once you do that install the latest drivers then test your games again and report back.

welshmousepk

Distinguished
gta 4 is notoriously badly coded. your performance sounds about right to me.