Where to get small heatsinks for a DSL modem?

Whib96

Distinguished
May 30, 2011
So, my family's old DSL modem died on us recently, which I am assuming to be because the board was fried. It had gone for 2 years without any cooling and with no airflow on the bottom (it was set upright on a desk, basically allowing only the top of the modem to radiate heat, which didn't work well).

We purchased a new one and I want to put a heatsink or two in this one to prevent it from getting fried like the last one. The problem is that I have no idea where to get the size heatsink I'm looking for...

The main chip (which I believe is the modem's CPU) is 20mm x 20mm. Now bare with me, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to computer cooling stuff. Where would I find a heatsink that small, and does it really matter if it's copper or aluminum? Also, would it really matter if the heatsink was larger than the chip?

Again, bare with my newbiness, please. I'm merely a teenager learning the basics of computer cooling :D

As far as size of heat sink, it should be at least the size of the chip you want to cool - bigger is better but you have space constraints to worry about also. Copper is better as a conductor but either material should work fine (BTW, diamond is best but a little cost prohibitive). I would be looking at laptop heatsink/fan combinations for a general idea and possible fit but some passive heatsinks (such as found on north and south bridges of motherboards) may be effective also.
Placing the modem on a small notebook cooler may be an option also

Whib96

Distinguished
May 30, 2011
Well, I'm not sure exactly how I'd get a fan in there. I'd have to do a lot of dremeling to fit it right. I'll probably just get a passive heatsink. Let me ask you this though...Can a single heatsink cover more than one chip, or do I need one for each?

Whib96

Distinguished
May 30, 2011