Sign in with
Your question

First build using leftovers from upgrades- advice appreciated!

Last response: in Systems
June 6, 2012 8:35:15 AM

Hello all- this is my first post here, but I have read the forum for quite a while. I am starting my first scratch build tomorrow though, and I figured I better have some experienced eyes look at my blueprint before starting to assemble anything. I have lots of experience with major tear-down/rebuild projects, and this build was actually a result of having leftover pieces unused or replaced from those endeavors. My most recent project was buying a Dell Inspiron 570 desktop on sale for around $250, then seeing what I could accomplish with the factory case, mobo and BIOS. The starting passmark system score was ~770, and the end result was a system score of 2868. I am hoping to exceed the perforamnce of that project here.

Approximate Purchase Date: all parts arrive tomorrow except for hard drive and opitcal drive.

Budget Range: around $200-$300 max for the hard drive, opitcal drive, and any other changes to the parts already listed as being purchased/on-hand.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: High resolution photography projects, 1080p video editing, web browsing and viewing streaming HD video on multiple monitors.

Parts on-hand from other projects: Phenom II X4 965 Black CPU, Asus HD 6850 graphics card, Asus HD 6670 graphics card, Corsair Vengence 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-15000 DDR3 RAM, Crucial 4GB (2 x 2GB) PC3-10600 DDR3 RAM, Logitech K800 Keyboard & M570 Trackball Mouse.

Parts ordered (can be exchanged): Asus M5A97 Motherboard, Cooler Master eXtreme 500W PSU, NZXT 210 Elite white case, NZXT 120mm fan (in addition to installed 140mm top and 120mm rear case fans),

Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus 120mm CPU Cooler

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Amazon- have gift credit left over, but will consider other established sites

Parts Preferences: Like Asus and Corsair due to familiarity