Sign in with
Your question

Which is Better AMD or Intel?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
October 4, 2012 6:15:48 PM

Hi,
I am a 3D Animator & VFX Editor and i am planning to buy a computer this month but i am a bit confused between AMD FX-8150 and Intel i5-3570K.

Both are High End CPU's good enough for my work but i am planning for a computer which would run Applications like 3Ds Max. Maya, After Effects, Fusion, Adobe Photoshop and other video editing applications. I will also play games (only on weekends) like Call of Duty: Black Ops, Battlefield 3, Max Payne 3, NFS Shift.
But my concern is not games i want a CPU which has more cores but should be fast enough because i need to RENDER my 3D files which uses the complete CPU power. Hence the CPU should be powerful enough in all terms and i am also planning to overclock it.

Specs of Both the CPU's (There is a clear differnce between both of them):

AMD FX-8150 : Eight Cores and 3.6 GHz (OC: 4.2 GHz)
Intel i5-3570K : Quad Core and 3.4 Ghz (OC: 3.8 GHz)

I have compared the benchmarks of both the CPU's and i5-3570K is a clear winner. And it has the new Ivy Bridge technology which has less power consumption (though it gets hotter than i5-2500K )and has better onboard graphics (Intel 4000). Also i have reviewed that the "Bulldozer" series is not upto the mark (it is relatively slower than AMD Phenom II x6 1100T) and heats up pretty fast. But the it provides 8 cores which is worth of its price and on the contrary i5-3570K only has 4 cores and it is expensive too.

Hence, I am confused which is better for my work?
Kindly Reply,
Thanks

More about : amd intel

a b à CPUs
October 4, 2012 6:43:13 PM

There is no universal standard which determines x is better than y, there are circumstances where both can be better options over the other and instances of where they can be worse options.