x2 4400 and Thermal Compound

ZackInTheBox

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2006
I am new to building computers, Ive only upgraded simple things on the one I have. I just bought a x2 4400 and some arctic 5. I dont know much about how to apply it and if it is worth applying over something they might include, or if it already has the compound on it. If it does is it worth taking off? How would I go about cleaning it off? Is it possible for me to mess up enough applying the compound and putting the cpu in the socket that I could easily break something? Plz help my stupid self :). I just hope I can tackle this by myself :).

MadModMike

Distinguished
Feb 1, 2006
I am new to building computers, Ive only upgraded simple things on the one I have. I just bought a x2 4400 and some arctic 5. I dont know much about how to apply it and if it is worth applying over something they might include, or if it already has the compound on it. If it does is it worth taking off? How would I go about cleaning it off? Is it possible for me to mess up enough applying the compound and putting the cpu in the socket that I could easily break something? Plz help my stupid self :). I just hope I can tackle this by myself :).

Put a small drop of AS5 on the center of the CPU and spread it around with a piece of plastic or use the tube itself. Apply just enough so you can't clearly see the CPU but not so much as to see a river of white paste.

~~Mad Mod Mike, pimpin' the world 1 rig at a time

ZackInTheBox

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2006
is it possible for me to do any damage by like putting to much or scratching it a bit with the thing im spreading it? so i want it like paper thin across? i want to make sure i dont fry my processor :) my mom'd kill me.

luminaris

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2005
Well, the instructions on AS5s site suggest you put a small drop of AS5 right in the center of the chip and drop the HSF right on top of it. That stuff spreads itself very much so across the chip once the HSF is installed.