Sign in with
Your question

Does this configuration make sense?

Last response: in Systems
June 7, 2012 2:55:46 PM

I am trying to configure a desktop that can run my architecture software. We're required to run Revit, AutoCAD, Rhino, and Creative Suite. I am still new to configuring custom PCs like this. I have done a level of my own research, but I know I still need a more informed opinion of this configuration before I buy it. Any suggestions, warnings, comments, or criticisms are greatly appreciated.

Here is my configuration as of now:

CASE:Corsair Obsidian Series 800D Full Tower Gaming Case w/ 4x SATA Hot-Swap Drive Bays & Side-Panel Window

CD:24X Double Layer Dual Format DVD+-R/+-RW + CD-R/RW Drive

CPU:Intel® Core™ i7-3930K Six-Core 3.20 GHz 12MB Intel Smart Cache LGA2011

FAN:CyberPower Xtreme Hydro Liquid Cooling Kit 360MM w/ Triple Fan(CPU & GPU Liquid Cool Capable, Extreme Overclocking Performance + Extreme Silent at 18dBA)

COOLANT:High-Performance Coolant powered by Koolance

HDD:120 GB OCZ Agility 3 SATA-III 6.0Gb/s SSD - 525MB/s Read & 500MB/s Write

HDD2:3TB (3TBx1) SATA-III 6.0Gb/s 64MB Cache 7200RPM HDD

FAN_HDD: Vigor iSURF II Hard Disk Drive Cooling System (1 x Systems)

MEMORY:32GB (8GBx4) DDR3/1600MHz Quad Channel Memory

MOTHERBOARD: (3-Way SLI Support) GIGABYTE X79 G1 Assassin 2 Intel X79 Chipset Quad Channel DDR3 ATX Mainboard w/ UEFI DualBIOS, Creative 20K2 HD Audio, Killer E2100 LAN, USB3.0, SATA-III RAID, 3 Gen3 PCIe X16, 2 PCIe X1 & 1 PCI

POWERSUPPLY: 1300 Watts - Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid 80 Plus Gold Power Supply (80+ Gold)

VIDEO:NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 4GB 16X PCIe 3.0 Video Card (EVGA Superclocked)

CARE:Cooler Master Thermal Fusion 400 Extreme Performance CPU - Thermal Compound Optimized for Thermal Dissipation

CARE:p rofessional Wiring for All WIRING Inside The System Chassis - Minimize Cable Exposure, Maximize Airflow in Your System