XFX Radeon HD 7970 Black Edition - System Crash problems

spikernum1

Honorable
Apr 9, 2012
I'm an experienced custom PC builder, and I was fortunate enough to build a pretty good PC last month.

My Problem:
My computer will randomly "shut off" regardless of the type of use/load it is put under.
I could be playing BF3 for 6 hours, and have no problem with it. Start browsing some web pages, and it will power off. That being said, I have had instances where I will crash during BF3 or other heavy loads. I just want to point out that it isn't isolated to any single situation. It is seemingly completely random.

My Troubleshooting:
I have run IBT and Prime95 to make sure my CPU and RAM are working fine - they can go maxed for over 24 hours.
I have run FurMark and get my video card up to 78C without it crashing.
I can run 3DMark without it crashing.
I have run Memtest86+ and confirmed my RAM is fine.
I have undone my CPU overclock

Other Notes:
When the computer "shuts off", the fans will still be going, the 7970 fan will actually ramp up for about 3 seconds before coming back down to it's regular low speed. Also, my G15 keyboard lights and my mouse laser will still be on - so USB power is still coming to them.
I have the option to restart on blue screen turned OFF, but I don't get a blue screen (not one that I can see anyways...)
I also do not see ANYTHING in the Event Viewer. All I see is the event in which I have to power down the system to get out of the crash state.
My monitors (one 27" LED Samsung using HDMI, one 22" LCD Samsung using DVI) will go into "no signal" state.
CTRL+ALT+DEL will not do anything.
The only thing that brings it out of this state is doing a hard reset or just pressing the power button.

Specs:
GPU: XFX Radeon HD 7970 OC Black Edition 1000MHZ 3GB 5.7GHZ GDDR5 (GPU is at stock OC speed that the Black Edition uses)
PSU: OCZ ZX Series 850W ATX12V 80Plus Gold 70A
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K 3.3GHz (OC to 4.0GHz)
Cool: Corsair H100