Sign in with
Your question

Computer restarts while playing games!

Last response: in CPUs
October 5, 2012 3:13:44 PM

Hi everyone,

While playing games such as borderlands, counter strike, and pretty much anything else, my computer will just randomly power off within the first hour. It shuts off and back on again and while its POSTing it shuts off again and its an endless cycle until I just leave it off for a while.

I'm not sure when this started because I just started playing pc games again.

Here is what I have tried to fix the problem:

Swapped graphics cards
Used different hard drives and ssd's
Cleaned the CPU, put new thermal paste on and reattached the aftermarket cooler
Swapped motherboards

Here is a list of my system specs and when I got the parts:

Intel core 2 duo E7400 - got it 4 years ago
ASUS P5QL PRO LGA775 - bought refurbished on eBay a month ago
OCZ agility 3 90gb ssd - 3 weeks old
Western digital caviar blue 360gb hdd - 4 years old
Rose will R700 watt psu - 2 years old
Rosewill challenger case - 2 years old
EVGA gtx460 - 2 years old

More about : computer restarts playing games

a b à CPUs
October 5, 2012 3:18:19 PM

It's probably your PSU. You could try testing gaming with a different PSU to see if this is the problem.
m
l
October 5, 2012 3:22:13 PM

do you think a psu could be going bad already?? its hardly 2 years old
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
October 5, 2012 3:29:08 PM

Bzoucha said:
do you think a psu could be going bad already?? its hardly 2 years old

Yes, I do. It isn't a great quality unit and 2 years isn't too bad for such a PSU, especially considering that if its a 700W model, you were badly under-utilizing it, increasing wear and tear almost as badly as overusing it. Underusing a PSU greatly can cause damage to the transformer(s) over time. You should always get a PSU that you will use between about 35% and 75% load to avoid such issues with under-utilization and over-utilization.
m
l
a b à CPUs
October 5, 2012 3:29:44 PM