Sign in with
Your question

Should I worry about static damaging my parts?

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
June 7, 2012 6:02:52 PM

I hope this is the correct forum category for this. This is my first time building a PC and I have all the parts sitting in my dining room, including the static wrist band I bought, but I have no idea where to attach it.

There is hardly any metal in my house. I have a laptop currently that is plugged into a power supply, but I think it is painted metal. And there are very few plugs, which are either too far away from my work area or have the power strip plugged into them.

Work area is in dining room with wood floors and a wood table, and I can easily build this barefoot and with minimal clothing. I don't live in a dry environment and don't think I've ever felt a static shock while living here, but I've read all these warnings about static issues so I bought the wrist band as a precaution.

My case is the Corsair 500r which I think is all painted metal (but it's just sitting on my table, not grounded or anything), so I'm at a loss as to what to touch and/or where to attach this wrist strap. I googled this but all I found were detailed instructions on earth grounding principles, which I didn't understand.

Do I need to worry about static in my environment? Should I touch the painted case anyway, will it help at all?

More about : worry static damaging parts

June 7, 2012 6:33:54 PM

I have base board heating, which has a painted metal case around it. Would attaching the wristband to that work? Or would I need to remove the casing and attach it to the metal part underneath?

What shoes should I wear for a wood floor?
June 7, 2012 6:45:50 PM

penarddun said:
I hope this is the correct forum category for this. This is my first time building a PC and I have all the parts sitting in my dining room, including the static wrist band I bought, but I have no idea where to attach it.