Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Was buying the amd a10 5800k a mistake?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
October 6, 2012 2:55:38 PM

I know I just made a thread on this yesterday but I'm starting to regret it. I'm not an expert when it comes to specs but since the a10 5800k is some sort of apu, would it not be as powerful as an amd fx or something? I already have a GTX 660 Ti for graphics I don't need the integrated stuff.
a b à CPUs
October 6, 2012 3:01:15 PM

You shouldn't buy an APU if you don't want to use it's graphics. This entirely defeats the purpose of such a chip. The CPU "part" is slower than a 965+ Phenom II or FX chip.

Return it if possible.

E: Just to elaborate a little more; It's not a bad chip, but since you want to use a dedicated GPU, there are better options.
Score
October 6, 2012 3:19:35 PM

Sigh ok
Score
Related resources
a b à CPUs
October 6, 2012 4:59:40 PM

^ Yep, you should ask questions and do research, then buy a CPU. Not the other way around :D ..
Score
a b à CPUs
October 6, 2012 5:06:15 PM

It's not slower than a PII or FX. It's faster than the 8150 in some circumstances. But, if you;re going to return it, you'll have to return the mobo as well. If you're going to get a new CPU, get the i5.
Score
October 6, 2012 5:49:18 PM

As long as i can max out games with decent framerates i can deal with keeping it until christmas or something
Score
a b à CPUs
October 6, 2012 6:06:12 PM

yeah , a mistake I almost made looking at only passmark benchmark , but looked here
and just kept my 1100 be , no real gains in the areas I am interested in , in fact slower in many
Score
October 6, 2012 6:08:57 PM

Meh if I send it back to newegg I have to wait forever to be able to get a new mobo and cpu. Poo.
Score
a b à CPUs
October 6, 2012 6:18:59 PM