Was buying the amd a10 5800k a mistake?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cloud6483

Honorable
Oct 5, 2012
I know I just made a thread on this yesterday but I'm starting to regret it. I'm not an expert when it comes to specs but since the a10 5800k is some sort of apu, would it not be as powerful as an amd fx or something? I already have a GTX 660 Ti for graphics I don't need the integrated stuff.

Solution

I'd say just stick with it and upgrade once something far more substantial comes along - Piledriver or Haswell, for example. The A10 is undeniably on par with the i3-3220 in gaming performance and price, so it's a good match to your 660. Overclocking factored in, it'll likely pass up the i3 with gusto (though from what I can tell, OCing Trinity isn't nearly as easy as OCing other processors).

Something else of interest to note: there are a line of Athlon II X4s coming to the FM2 socket, namely the Athlon 750K. Despite...

whatsthatnoise

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2011
You shouldn't buy an APU if you don't want to use it's graphics. This entirely defeats the purpose of such a chip. The CPU "part" is slower than a 965+ Phenom II or FX chip.

Return it if possible.

E: Just to elaborate a little more; It's not a bad chip, but since you want to use a dedicated GPU, there are better options.

luciferano

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012
If you disable the graphics and overclock it, it would probably be able to overclock more than enough to perform excellently. The graphics is probably like half of the chips power consumption, so disabling it should leave a ton of thermal headroom.

luciferano

Honorable
Sep 24, 2012

It should let you overclock excellently if you can disable the IGP of the A10. Like half of its power consumption is the IGP, so one might think that it should overclock excellently with its IGP disabled. IDK if you can fully disable the IGP because I don't have a trinity system, but we could look into this before returning it because maybe it can do the job.