Sign in with
Your question

Is a Geforce GT 440 an upgrade to my geforce 8600 gts?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 10, 2012 6:33:51 PM

Hello, I currently have an 8600 gts DDR3 256mb PCI-E card that I've been using for almost 4-5 years. It requires a 6 pin connector to the power supply. I have a 1.86 Core 2 Duo processor, 4 gigs of ram and a 430 watt antec power supply with 3 rails. I'm not a hardcore gamer, but I do play World of Warcraft a lot. Right now I play WoW at max resolution (1920 x 1080) widescreen on medium-high settings with 30-60 fps. FPS depends on where I'm at. Usually I drop to 30ish in very heavy forests or in heavy populated zones.

I know WoW gets a little bit more demanding with each new expansion. I can see some of the newer zones are starting to push my card. I want to upgrade my card, but here's the kicker.....a dual slot card will absolutely 100% NOT fit in my PC. Gateway for some reason designed my PC to be backwards from normal PCs with normal motherboards. Only a single slot card will work. I wish I'd known that 5 years ago before I bought it. Plus, if I can, I don't want to upgrade my power supply at the moment.

Well anyways, I was looking at the Geforce GT 440 DDR 3 1 gig PCI-e card. I know the GT 440 isn't considered a gamer card, but I want to know if it is better than my older card. I found a comparison that showed the following numbers between my 8600 gts and the GT 440 . Assuming it's accurate....

The GT 440 has a little more than double the pixel fill rate and texture fill rate than my 8600 gts, but the memory bandwidth is a bit slower than my current card. The GT 440 has 28.8 GB/sec and my 8600 gts has 32GB/sec. The GT 440 has 96 shader processors and my 8600 has 32 shader processors. The GT 440 has 28 texture units and my 8600 has 16. Lastly, the GT 440 has 16 raster operations and my 8600 gts has 8 raster operations.