New Build: OS won't load from Windows Disc

hitman932

Honorable
Jun 8, 2012
First off let me say that I am an amateur and this is my first custom build done with the help of a friend. We have set everything up, verified all connections and the computer posted. We are able to get into the bios fine however we cannot load Windows from the disc that we have. First a few details.

1) The processor (X6 1055t) and storage HD (Caviar Blue 1 TB) are from a Dell XPS 7100 my SSD is aftermarket and taken from my current laptop. Everything else was purachased new - Motherboard, GPU, Blu Ray Writer, Fan Control, RAM, CPU Cooler.
2) The SSD I am using as a boot drive (Vertex 4) has had windows loaded onto it from a disc on a different computer. I removed the SSD from my laptop as I wanted it my custom build instead.
3) The SSD is mounted in the topside Sata dock on my Corsair 650 case for simplicity sake (was intending to put it inside after OS was loaded)
4) The WD Caviar blue has Windows Office Pro and most of my music on it. Also has the OS attached to the XPS 7100. Did not want to lose Office software and would like to migrate OS if at all possible.

So my question then becomes... why can I not get Windows to load off of a disc upon setup?

The optical drive is a blu ray writer which I dont think should matter. The optical drive is recognized by Bios, and it spins when disc is inserted but it does not load anything.

Does my SSD need to be formatted? Is having my boot drive in a top of the case external bay cause problems? Will I be able to save my OS and Office software from the storage HD?

If I need to buy a new OS I can do that I just obviously prefer not to and want to rule out any other potential issues before doing so. Thanks in advance for any advice.

SmartGeek

Honorable
Jun 3, 2012

Hi hitman932,

I think you need to get the Blue-Ray Drive at the top in Boot Drive Priority.