Sign in with
Your question

Do I need Full or Mid Tower ATX Case

Last response: in Systems
June 9, 2012 12:55:37 PM

This is my first build and i dont know if i need a full or mid tower to adequately fit my build.

i5-3570K
Hyper 212 EVO
G.Skill Ripjaws 8GB
ASRock z77 Extreme4
ZOTAC Geforce gtx 670 AMP! Edition
Seagate barracuda 1Tb 7200rpm 6gbps
500W Corsairs PSU

I want to leave room for possible expansion in the future and have the best airflow possible. I thought i needed a full tower, but if i dont i can save some $$. I was about to purchase the Antec DF-85, which has the color scheme, window, and airflow capabilities that i wanted. If i dont need a full tower, do you have any suggestions on high quality mid-towers?
June 9, 2012 2:51:18 PM

You don't need full unless you plan to build a large disk array. Sometimes full will give you cable length problems a smaller case won't.

Most people don't try 3-4 different cases. Maybe start your search with articles like this one http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/mana-136-midgard-ii... pick a case that looks nice to you, read reviews at newegg & amazon and then post to see if anyone has tried it.

At the higher end there's some really nice cases. Check thru these reviews: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/Components,1/Cases,...
m
l
June 9, 2012 2:57:55 PM

What kind of expansion? If you want to Sli In the future then you must get a higher watt psu, actually you need a higher one now because the minimum for a 670 is 500w and then you need some headroom to OC your cpu. Either way if you want to maintain the best airflow I would just say go with a full tower. The more space you have, the better airflow. Personally, I would recommend a HAF 932 or a Antec 1200v3. Although the HAF xm is a great midtower
m
l
Related resources
June 9, 2012 3:18:00 PM

I would strongly recommend a Corsair Graphite 600T or the Graphite 600T White, they are mid tower cases with excellent airflow,