Sign in with
Your question

PC build advice

Last response: in Systems
June 9, 2012 4:47:42 AM

Hi there, I'm new to building a pc, this would be my first build, and I'm in need of some advice and help building my machine.

I guess I should start by saying the purpose of this machine would be all-purpose performance. I intend to primarily be gaming on this machine but I'd also like to take on media projects with programs such CS5 on the side. My biggest wish for this machine is to be able to run most games and programs somewhat lag free. Also, I want to try to keep my budget around $1,400 but I'm not afraid or resistant to spending more.

That being said, I've got my processor, motherboard and GPU picked out and I'm fairly comfortable they'll live up to my expectations and then some but I'm not entirely sure of how compatible the parts I'll provide below are with each other. Also, I need some advice and recommendations when it comes to picking memory, HDD/SSD, power supply(PSU) and a cooling system.

Here's the parts I came up with so far;

Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-3770k

GPU: Galaxy GeForce GTX 670 GC

Motherboard: MSI Z77A-GD65

Case: NZXT Switch 810 Full Tower Case
http://www.xoxide.com/nzxt-810ftcase-black.html

CD/DVD drive: anything that gets the job done.

HDD/SSD: anything with roughly 500GB space

I've gotten some advice about the missing parts that I'll go into detail a bit below

Memory: Triple Channel, sets of 3, low latency

PSU: Good brand, lots of watts, non-modular

HDD/SSD: SSD is more reliable but more expensive per GB than HDD's are.

Cooling system/heat management: Artic silver thermal paste, Hyper 212 EVO (http://www.coolermaster.com/product.php?product_id=6741)