Sign in with
Your question

New Sound Setup

Last response: in Components
October 8, 2012 6:36:07 AM

Hello all,
I am finalizing everything on my new rig setup and am at the sound part which is something I have very little knowledge on so any insight will be very helpful. I have a 7.1 surround sound system in my room that I would love to utilize instead of buying a computer sound setup like Logitech speakers or what not. That being said what would be the best way to setup my computer to the home theater system for best quality audio (has to be a long cord to reach around the whole room hugging walls so its hidden) and does my GA-Z77X-UD5H mobo onboard sound have a good enough quality to support something like this or am I looking at a dedicated sound card? Also, I have a pair of Sennheiser PC 360 headphones that I want to get best quality out of when I game and listen to music.

More about : sound setup

October 8, 2012 11:42:06 AM

Easiest way would be to connect your pc to amplifier via hdmi cable (if it has hdmi inputs) or using optical toslink. Unfortunately optical spdif is limited to some 6 meters of length, so I guess it won't do.

Connecting your headphones is another matter. You can connect them to onboard audio, but the problem is that the sound can be output to only either hdmi or rear panel audio jacks. Not to both at once - you will need to switch windows audio settings to either hdmi or headphones every time.