Building $1200-1500 computational computer, would love some advice

CornerSolution

Honorable
Jun 12, 2012
Hello!

I'm an economics grad student, looking to build a computer to do some heavy computational work, mainly in MATLAB, but also some work in STATA, R and FORTRAN. My work runs the gamut from statistical analysis to function optimization to simulation.

I'm not an expert in computer hardware by any stretch, so I was hoping to get some advice from some people who know what they're doing.

Here we go.

----------------------------------------

Approximate Purchase Date: Within the next week or two ideally.

Budget Range: $1200-1500 (CDN)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Computational work, internet, watching the odd movie

Parts Not Required: Discrete graphics card (right now, though I would appreciate the ability to add one in the future), speakers, mouse.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: NCIX.com would be easiest since I can pick up the parts rather than having them shipped, but ultimately price is the most important thing.

Parts Preferences: None in particular.

Overclocking: No.

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: This will be a Windows 7 (64-bit) box.

Here's a list of what I've put together so far. I would greatly appreciate any advice/suggestions.

CPU: Intel Core i7 2600

Heatsink: Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus

MOBO: ASUS P8Z68-V Pro

PSU: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX550M 550W

RAM: G.SKILL F3-10666CL7D-8GBRH Ripjaws PC3-10666 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1333 CL7-7-7-21

Case: Thermaltake V9

HDD: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200RPM

Monitor: ASUS VH236H 23" Widescreen LCD

Any advice would be welcome. A few things I would specifically like to know:

1) Are the above parts all compatible with each other?

2) As mentioned before, I don't think I need a discrete graphics unit right now, but it would be nice to have the option to updgrade. Will this be possible with the above build (e.g., with the 550W PSU I have listed)?