Sign in with
Your question

Need advice on building pc

Last response: in Systems
June 13, 2012 2:39:47 PM

Hello, guys. I was wondering if it was a good time to build a gaming PC. (Please tell me if it would be better to wait)
I'll be using it mostly for mid- to high-level gaming. Here are the specs I'm looking for or have found so far: (btw, I am not tech-savvy)
Budget: $1000 ~ 1500
CPU: Intel Core i5 3570K 3.4GHz (will OC)
Motherboard: Looking for at least 2 PCIe 3.0 slot, and supports memory type DDR3-1600 or more.
Something like this: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO LGA 1155 Z77 ATX Intel Motherboard ~$200 (if there is a better deal than this, please tell me)
Graphics: Geforce GTX 670 or 680?
Which one is the better-bang-for-the-buck as a single card? (the price/performance ratio)
I also consider noise level, idle temp, full load temp.
Monitor will be 27" at 1920x1080 for now.
Cooler: Liquid. I am new to water-cooling so there are many concerns I have about it (like risk of freezing if left idle & no OC?)
I see claims of "zero-maintenance" like the Corsair Hydro-series. It seems too good to be true.
PSU: 850W? (In case I decide to SLI, will it be enough?)
Case: Full- or mid-tower?
Memory: Corsair 8gb ddr3-1600 or 16gb.
Internal Drive: SSD 128gb or 500GB HDD. (Is it true that SSD has less heat and noise than regular HDD?)

I want to make something that would be somewhat future-proof, if possible. (easily upgradable is what I mean)
Also, I'd like an estimate on the noise level and idle/under load temp of this entire system. Oh, and life expectancy of system as well. :) 
That's pretty much it. XD

More about : advice building

a b B Homebuilt system
June 13, 2012 3:18:12 PM

Now's as good a time as any.

CPU is a great choice.

MOBO I recommend ASRock Z77 Extreme4.

GPU GTX 670 is better for price/performance. Generally the lower the price the better the price/performance :p 

If planning on liquid cooling do it custom, do it properly right away.

Yeah 850W will suffice for SLI.