If your budge was X what would you buy?

javierc

Honorable
Oct 15, 2012
So the last time I built my pc was 5ish? years ago and its just not able to hold up to what I need. I am a designer and often need more resources for my work, thus requiring me to use computers primarily at work. I am also an avid pc gamer. My budget is about 3k but I dont follow the tech trend enough to know if I am getting the quality for my money.

I currently have

vist x64
phenom x4
asus a4 mobo
gtx 280
4gb ddr2 ocz ram
full size coolermaster HAF

I plan on keeping my case ( i love it) I was looking to get a SSD and I will need a new PSupply. The same thing goes for a monitor too. The current one is not adequate. The mouse and kb I will keep. Any help/input and does/don't would be great.

Ceee9

Honorable
Oct 12, 2012
If u really need and upgrade,
I suggest getting i5 3570k or i7 3770k, ur call with or without hyperthreading,
8 gb ram ddr3,

For motherboard u can choose for asrock extreme 4 or asus... Or Gigabyte...
I cant remember the name but u can search in article and review,
Or if u want thunderbolt, msi z77a gd80,

Gigabyte with dual thunderbolt is great but most shop seems playing with it price

Ssd-vertex 4, samsung 830 or 840, plextor m5 (this some top lf the line product)

Gpu, gtx 670 or 660 ti,

Psu, get those with 80+ bronze etc,

Feel free to add more pasion in this build, and it getting late for me now :sleep:

Keep your case get a rasa kit for cooling and this

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor ($329.99 @ Newegg)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14 65.0 CFM CPU Cooler ($83.99 @ Newegg)
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($279.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LP 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($85.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($117.85 @ Newegg)
Storage: OCZ Vertex 4 256GB 2.5" Solid State Disk ($209.99 @ Newegg)