Non stop beeps for 10ish seconds then shut down on new build

othevad

Honorable
Jun 14, 2012
Hello,

So I just build a new computer and salvaged a couple of parts from my old build.
I just plugged everything in, tried to fire it up. It beeped about 35 to 40 times, stayed on for about 10 seconds and then reset. I have not installed anything on it yet (although my old hds are still in there)
Nothing shows on the monitor. Fans and everything come on.
I'm pretty new to this, have 1 successful build under my belt and think everything is alright... but obviously not.
Any ideas?

Here's a hardware list.

gigabyte Z77-D3H mobo
intel i5 2.3 ghz quad core
hive 80+ bronze power supply
8 gigs of samsung ddr3
intel 120g ssd
some other 1.5 tb hd, think its a seagate. il check but i doubt thats the issue.

onboard sound and video atm, although i have other components waiting to go in... but obviously not yet.

digitalzed

Honorable
Sep 22, 2012
I'm having this same issue. Did you ever figure out what it was?

If you have an issue, please dont resurrect 3-month old threads. Just make a new one and we will (probably) help you.

Check your motherboard manual to find out what the beeps mean. Also your board may have some kind of LED debug system on it, use that as well.

I also am assuming that the your machine wont POST (get to the motherboard splash screen)? Then I advise you follow this guide, it will find or solve most of the common problems.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-perform-steps-posting-post-boot-video-problems

digitalzed

Honorable
Sep 22, 2012
manofchalk, thank you. This post came up in a Google search and thought asking if it had been resolved was the best route rather than asking a new question.