I5 3570K first temp read

highcountryrider

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2008
Just assembled a new system using an i5 3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-M micro ATX MB in a Silverstone Temjin TJ08B-E micro ATX case and cooled by a Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo running one fan in push configuration. The case has a single 180mm Air Penetrator intake fan.

Just setting up and on first boot I entered the ASRock UEFI BIOS. In the BIOS hardware monitor it shows a CPU temp of between 35 and 36 C, MB temp is 32 C, the EVO fan is running at about 1900 RPM (out of 2000 per specs) and the 180mm AP is running at about 950 RMP (using fan switch set on low) - it also has a high setting which runs at about 1250 RPM. Ambient air temp is about 80 F.

This is my first time using the Hyper 212 EVO. I used Tuniq TX-2 TIM. I'd had the TIM a couple of years but it was well sealed and in a air proof baggie. The TX-2 seemed fine when I applied it, not hardened at all. I used a very small pea sized portion on the center of the CPU. I had a little trouble mounting the bracket that clamps the cooler onto the CPU (a little tough to line up the holes) but got it finally.

Before I go ahead and install Windows 7 (and get a real temperature reading utility) I would like to know if this reading seems in line with no OS or load. I could take the 212 EVO off and check the TIM spread on the CPU and heat sink base but would obviously prefer not doing that,

I'll be installing Win 7 on a Samsung 830 256GB SSD and using a WD Caviar Black 500GB HDD for storage. No gaming use at all but I might try a modest OC of the 3570K (4 - 4.2GHz). Haven't OCed before but this CPU seems to be good for it.

Appreciate any comments or suggestions.

Orlean

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2011