Sign in with
Your question
Solved

AMD 8120/50 or i5 or i3?

Last response: in CPUs
October 16, 2012 8:13:43 AM

I am an avid programmer and need to buy a system for myself. Until now, I have been working on an IBM Thinkpad T410 which has i7 M620 @2.67Ghz quad core with 8Gb of RAM - but this is what my company bought for my work :) 

Following are the most frequently used applications which I need to run almost throughout the day, every single day:-

- Adobe Photoshop CS5
- Adobe Flex
- Eclipse
- Firefox and Chrome with atleast 50-75 tabs open in parallel ( i believe this needs to be considered, given the amount of memory leaks that FF has - it easily spikes to 1-1.5Gb with over 15% CPU consumption)
- VMWare or VirtualBox running Mac OS X - 2Gb memory dedicated to this instance, and right now I allocate 2 cores to it as well
- no games at all :) 

When I look at my Windows Task Manager right after booting up, in idle condition about 7% of CPU is kept consumed with over 2.5Gb of primary memory..

Given all of the above, I was able to atleast decide on 1 of the factors - given that RAM is cheap, I can/would get 12-16Gb

Now it boils down to price Vs need for me. I need to get a processor which doesn't get too dated in the next 2-3 years; its just not practically and financially feasible for me to keep buying/upgrading a system every 2 years.

Given my span of work, the applications I use and the budget, I have been able to drill down from a plethora of processors to 3:-
- i3
- i5
- AMD (8120/8150)

i7 is just too expensive; so its off the list.
Now, would i3 be good enough? Or do I get an i5 or an equivalent AMD 8120/8150?
Again, there are like 50 variants of i3 (1st gen, 2nd gen, 3rd gen) and over 25 of i5 with price difference ranging between 10-150$!!!! How and what to choose? Which motherboard to go with?