Sign in with
Your question

$1600 build, any suggestions?

Last response: in Systems
June 15, 2012 4:41:44 AM

Intro: I'm finally going to upgrade to a good home computer after having spend the last 6 years on a sub-par Dell throwaway. I have been a custom system builder in the past, but haven't built my own rig in at least 10 years so I'm a bit behind on the hardware knowledge. However, I've been doing a lot of research and come up with the following for my upcoming build.

Approximate Purchase Date: This summer-ish (next 3 months or so).

Budget Range: A rather flexible $1200 to $1800, as long as I get an effective speed/cost ratio.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Business (Dreamweaver, Photoshop), Multimedia Center.

Parts Not Required: Keyboard/Mouse. I already have a reasonable mechanical keyboard and my beloved Logitech 810 Mouse. I'm not keeping any parts from my old machine.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg.

Overclocking: Yes, and I'll explain. I'd like to lightly overclock the processor, and will experiment at how high I can crank up the video card. I don't like to let things run very hot though, and turn things down if they get in excess of 65°C.

SLI or Crossfire: Not on this build. Not very cost-effective from what I've read, but haven't tried it.

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: With this build I am hoping to get the most performance for each dollar spent, specifically for gaming. I also want the machine to run quietly, and have made some choices to help facilitate this. I want to keep flair to a minimum, and generally find LED's on everything to be annoying. I'm hoping this machine lets me play pretty much every game maxed out, so that hopefully it will be good for games for the next 5+ years.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Parts List:

Case - Corsair Obsidian Series 550D $140