Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help updating a 3yr old system

Last response: in Systems
June 15, 2012 10:14:21 AM

Hi friends,

I’m in need of a PC gaming rig, and was lucky enough to find 2 old systems in my house that might serve as a starting point to put together a decent setup. Can you guys help me with a few questions I have? I’m a newb on PC builds, and would really appreciate the help.

Here are the specs of the first uncovered treasure found collecting dust.

System 1
• AMD Athlon II 64 X2 270 Dual-Core 3.4GHz AM3 Processor
• AMD STANDARD COOLING FAN
• (SPECIAL) ASRock N68-S Socket AM2+/ GeForce 7025/ DDR2/ RAID/ A&V&GbE/ MATX Motherboard
• (SPECIAL) SUPER TALENT/AMPO 2GB DDR-2 800MHZ PC-6400 (2X 1GB)
• HITACHI / SEAGATE 2TB 5900 RPM 64MB CACHE SATA 6.0Gb/s
• 12X BLU-RAY PLAYER & DVD-RW COMBO DRIVE
• (SPECIAL) nVidia GeForce GT430 2GB DDR3 DVI/HDMI/VGA PCI-Express Video Card
• REALTEK 6-CHANNEL DIGITAL SOUND ONBOARD
• REALTEK 10/100 ETHERNET ONBOARD
• COOLER MASTER HAF 912 RC-912-KKN1 Black SECC/ ABS Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
• CORSAIR 600 WATT HIGH PERFORMANCE SLI/CROSSFIRE POWER SUPPLY
• Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit (W/LIFETIME OF FREE SUPPORT PACKAGE FROM ALLPCZONE, DVD & LICENSE INCLUDED)

Here are some questions I had about this system:

The 600W PSU is what I believe to be adequate for gaming purposes and it’s from what I think is a decent brand – Corsair. At least it’s a brand I’ve heard of. Isn’t 600W adequate to power a decent tower with a muscly video card inside?

The Mobo indicates DDR2. Isn’t that a fairly old memory technology? Will I need to ditch this Mobo and go with something that can accept one of the newer memory types?

The 2GB of RAM by Super Talent doesn’t sound great to me. Isn’t Super Talent a budget brand? Don’t I need RAM by a decent premium brand for gaming with a name like ‘ripjaws’ or something like that? And I surely need a minimum of 4GB of RAM for a modern system right?