Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Quantum Computers... Do they improve gaming?

Last response: in Components
October 17, 2012 1:17:05 AM

So I think quantum computers are pretty darn interesting but from everything I've read, they only really help on dividing HUGE numbers and searching databases. To me this doesn't really seem like it would have any implementation on gaming. Would quantum computers actually help gaming? Or would we be better off just developing some sort of "hyper-efficient" CPU that could do calculations in the traditional computer sense? I'm no expert so I'm wondering what anyone else knows. I also know that it is really hard to write programs for quantum computers which seems to hurt their case even more. What do you guys know?

More about : quantum computers improve gaming

October 17, 2012 2:45:39 AM

Well your misunderstanding it....games themselves do nothing but a HUGE amount of math!! Quantum computing will speed up everything, including games!!!So don;t worry:) 
m
l
a b 4 Gaming
October 17, 2012 5:59:06 AM

Actually, from my understanding, quantum computers will speed up certain tasks dramatically, but they won't necessarily speed up everything. For example, they should be very, very good at factoring products of large primes. This has substantial implications for cryptography. They won't necessarily be good at everything though, and it's very possible that regular computers will continue to be developed in parallel with quantum computers, since their capabilities will still be needed.
m
l
Related resources
October 17, 2012 6:27:08 AM

I'm sure batman has quantum components on his computer, you could ask him.
m
l
a b 4 Gaming
October 17, 2012 7:39:59 AM

If everything else fails....ask batman.
m
l
October 17, 2012 10:38:10 AM