netcommercial

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2012
Hi all,

I have been trying to put together a reliable workstation for video editing. I thought the 3930k and either the x79 or extreme9 would do the trick. However after reading the HORROR threads about the performance. lock-ups and tweaking to get them running. I am not so sure about those anymore. I am a novice builder intermediate editor.

I bought a nvidia quadro 4000 card to use. That is done.

I am looking at this card http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116501
I7-3770k but it has a graphic card in it, I think? Will that conflict or will it 'crossfire'?

Also if you know of a MOBO that has 2 -16 pci slots for a later gtx580 card to add, or a gtx680 still thinking for down the road on that one... Please paste one in if you have a suggestioni. I like Workstations boards as I was sold on the idea that they get a bit more testing before shipped. How true that is?? I would like to have a built in IEEE for stop animation as well.

Software is Adobe CS6 and Adobe Media Composer BTW....

Figured SSD for C&D drive and a 7200 RAID for storage... Your thoughts?

Solution
Nothing to be worried about IMO. As long as you plug in your DVI cable (or any type of video-output/input cable you have on hand) into your Graphics Card, the onboard GPU won't conflict with anything.

As for motherboards, here are a few recommendations from what you said in your first post :)

ASUS P8Z77-V - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131820&name=Intel-Motherboards

MSI Z77A-G65 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130643&name=Intel-Motherboards

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP4 TH - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128558&name=Intel-Motherboards

These boards all feature PCI-E 3.0 16x, 8x. 16x for single card configurations, and two 8x slots for 2 card configurations...