Sign in with
Your question

Need help with custom gaming build.

Last response: in Systems
June 16, 2012 11:11:38 PM

First off, I am fairly new at PC gaming, where I've never even owned a "gaming" computer before. I thought I'd start now.

Now, I've done a bit of research as to what I'd need, but the whole concept is a bit intimidating. I have found a website that seems to be helpful and I am basing much of my choice on it.

The current build I am considering:

Motherboard

ASUS P8Z68-V LX Intel Z68 Motherboard ($110)

CPU

Intel Core i5-2500K ($220)

RAM

Patriot G2 Series 8GB DDR3 (1600 Mhz) ($47)

Video Card

EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti SuperClocked (1GB) ($125)

Sound Card

Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy 7.1 ($30)

Hard Drive

Seagate Barracuda 1TB ($100)

Optical Drive

Lite-On Internal DVD Writer ($18)

Case

Cooler Master RC-430-KWN1 Elite 430 ($40)

Power Supply

Cooler Master Elite Series 460 Watts ($30)

Operating System

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit ($100)

TOTAL COST: $820

I'd love some insight on whether this set-up can run nicely for some higher-run games, use Skyrim as a guideline.

Mainly though, my biggest concern is finding a monitor that is highly cost effective. I didn't want to go over $800, but it isn't too much of a big deal. Secondhand monitors would be fine, unless isn't a reliable option. Thanks for any feedback you can provide and I can't wait to join the PC community.

Also, I appologize if this is hard to read. I'm typing this on my phone which is difficult and time consuming.

EDIT: If anyone has any insight on where I can save a few bucks without sacrificing too much performance, it would be very appreciated. Thanks again.

More about : custom gaming build

June 16, 2012 11:33:18 PM

I started with a similar blueprint before starting my first build a few weeks ago & my $800 guideline turned into a $1,724.97 end product.