Cpu and motherboard

+1

Any game will run on ANY CPU. If you're talking about getting performance that you're not feeling satisfied with, I would mildly overclock your FX-6100 to see if you can get any performance boosts. If you aren't getting any performance boosts, you are most likely being held back by your GPU.

tna135

Distinguished
Sep 2, 2012
the reason why i want to get the phenom cpu is because i have mw3 and it wont work because i have a amd fx cpu and i heard alot of people have this problem and plus in general i heard i fx cpu isnt that great for gaming. i dont want to overclock because i never had and im scared to overclock because im new to it. where i know if i get the phenom cpu i know cod games will work. so thats the reason why i want the phenom cpu.

Okay, first off, let me tell you that MW3 isn't a demanding game and it will work on ANY CPU. Heck, it even works on Athlon II's; with that said, there isn't any reason in the world that it will not run on a FX-6100.

People have stated the FX-6100 isn't great for gaming, which is true, however, that does not mean that it can't or won't run games. It will run games fine, however, it may just not be properly utilised thus not giving you the best performance possible.

You may be running into some driver issues/lack of system requirements if you aren't able to play MW3.

What are your full system specs? If we know this information, we may be able to be of more assistance.

tna135

Distinguished
Sep 2, 2012
my system specs are: gigabyte 970a-d3 mobo, amd fx 6100, his 7850, 8gb corsair vengenance 1866 ram, raidmax 850w psu, seagate 500gb hdd. i downloaded all the latest drivers and i look daily to see if there are new drivers. i of course dont know that much about computers since i am still a begginer. so if you or anybody else has a answer just let me know.

NoUserBar

Distinguished
Nov 1, 2011