Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First Build Ever, Think I'm having GPU Problems

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 22, 2012 3:09:11 AM

Hello everyone,

I'd like to start off by saying this is my first build ever, so please be noob friendly. I have assembled my first computer using the Gigabyte Radeon 7970 and the Gigabyte z77x-ud5h motherboard.

Everything seems to work except for my gpu. I have concluded it is this because my integrated graphics work just fine. Basically when I try to start my computer with the GPU plugged in, I am told on my monitor that it is receiving no signal and it turns off. I'm currently baffled as to what to do. I don't think the GPU is DOA because it turns on and the fan spins, or at least I've heard it do so before.

Please ask me questions if it will help diagnose the problem. I am desperate to get this fixed ASAP.

Edit: I have already installed Windows 7, booting up with the integrated gpu.

More about : build gpu problems

April 22, 2012 3:14:30 AM

What powersupply do you have?

Are you sure you have all the power connectors from the powersupply to the GPU?

Is there a setting in your BIOS that lets you switch between onboard and PCI-e graphics?
m
l
April 22, 2012 3:20:07 AM

BigMack70 said:
Is there some sort of setting in your BIOS for "primary graphics adapter" or some such? If there is, is it set to default to your PCI-e card or your integrated video?

My guess is either that is your problem, or your 7970 is DOA. The fact that the fans spin up on the graphics card doesn't necessarily mean that it is working.

I would try disabling the integrated graphics before doing anything else.

I had changed it to that option in BIOS, to load from PCI graphics, but then when I tried booting up I'd get this error

"Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device"

Although that was before I had installed the operating system

m
l
Related resources
April 22, 2012 3:23:10 AM

Helltech said: