Weird Problem

I have a strange situation that I thought I would post on this forum since there seems to be some very knowledgeable techs in here. Although I am an IT administrator and have been building/configuring PCs now for a few years, this problem has me baffled. Here's the specs on my machine before I get into the problem:

AMD Slot 1 Athlon 850
512 MB Micron CAS 2 Memory
MSI 6167 Mobo
NVidia GeForce2 GTS Pro DDR Video Card
Sound Blaster X-Gamer 5.1 sound card
Creative CDRW
Creative 12x DVD
450W Sparkle Power Supply
Dual booting Windows XP and Windows 2000
The Windows 2000 partition needs to be redone as there are some problems with that, but this problem exists in XP.

I have 6 fans in the box so system/CPU temps are not a factor. CPU temp is between 32 and 36 degrees Celcius.

Now onto the problems, upon checking the system event log, I'm getting an error that reads:

AMLI: ACPI BIOS is attempting to write to an illegal IO port address (0x4d1), which lies in the 0x4d0 - 0x4d1 protected address range. This could lead to system instability. Please contact your system vendor for technical assistance.

The Windows Knolowledge base has no information on this error. My bios settings concerning power settings are turned off, I am asumming that this is part of the problem. And I'm also getting spontaneous reboots while in the GUI. I have replaced the mobo battery to eliminate a possible problem there.

Thank you in advance for your help.
2 answers Last reply
More about weird problem
  1. Hehe.. funny you should mention it, I just solved a similar problem. It was an error in the BIOS... I flashed the BIOS and low and behold it was fixed! [see my thread titled "XP error report - post bsod" in this section.]