Sign in with
Your question

My new build

Last response: in Systems
June 18, 2012 11:27:29 PM

I have ordered the parts.. this is my first build
I have mouse, keyboard and, speakers and monitor on hand. Any ideas on possible mistakes I made or left off?

CPU: i7-3770
MB: Asus Sabertooth Z77
PS: Seasonic X750 Gold
SSd: Plextor M3 Series 256GB Sata III
HD: Western Digital 500 GB
Case: Corsair 600T white
Memory: 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
GPU: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 680
Lite-on 24x DVD Writer
Cooling: Thermaltake Frio Overclocking-Ready

Total cost to me.. including shipping $1998.73.
The CPU comes with a thermal paste, but should i get something better?

More about : build

June 18, 2012 11:38:27 PM

What is the purpose of your build?

If it's gaming you way overspent on some items.
If it's a photoshop/editing build, get more ram. It will probably help.

You didn't get an unlocked CPU, so you can't overclock, so really no need for an aftermarker cooler.

Your cooler should, however, come with paste.
m
l
June 18, 2012 11:38:57 PM

Double tap, sorry.
m
l
Related resources
June 19, 2012 1:47:34 AM

cranked said:
What is the purpose of your build?

If it's gaming you way overspent on some items.
If it's a photoshop/editing build, get more ram. It will probably help.

You didn't get an unlocked CPU, so you can't overclock, so really no need for an aftermarker cooler.

Your cooler should, however, come with paste.

First let me thank you for the response.
I am in no hurry and very willing to return and replace a few items... I like to game SWTOR/Skyrim/Wow.

I am new to this and am not real comfortable with OC but might would give it a try in the future. I had a $2500 budget so if you have a suggestion for changes to make, I am all ears.
m
l
June 19, 2012 2:39:31 AM

A really solid gaming build can be had for around $1500.