Sign in with
Your question

How to identify cause of random PC Frezes

Last response: in Components
October 22, 2012 10:59:19 AM

Hello,
I am facing this really strange irksome problem for some time now....my PC (Win 7 32 bit, Intel dual core, gigabyte intel 945 chipset motherboard, ATI 4350 card, 300 gb seagate hdd, 2 gb ram) just freezes up at random time.

For days my pc will run ok but suddenly this freezing problems arise, usually i open up the pc casing, remove the ram, rub it with an eraser and put it back and the problem used to go away....but it has become a bit severe in the past two days....it just refuses to work properly

Also, i tried various memory diagnostic tools like : memtest, the one provided by MS in the installation disc, etc and they all show that there isnt any problem with the RAM. I have also tried HDD diagnostic tools (from seagate btw) which also lead me nowhere...
Now i'm not a total noob at PC but the hardware issues are not my forte exactly. i cant figure out where the problem lies exactly cos the diagnostics do not point to my RAM and HDD....although i'm not too sure of the hdd

anything that can be done to find the cause ??

More about : identify random frezes

October 22, 2012 11:09:46 AM

300gb hdds now belong in an era long past. I suggest upgrading to a nice, roomy 1TB, preferably Western Digital, Caviar Blue.
m
l
October 22, 2012 11:43:36 AM

What kind of power supply do you have? How old is it? Brand/Model would help a lot. A failing PSU can cause random freezing problems. Or a high Watt consumption would cause errors.

Check drivers, ensure they're not conflicting in device manager. Update them or downgrade them and check for stability.

Especially check video card drivers.

Some graphics cards could fail.

Ram is often a culprit, but you'll have program errors more than windows failing. Reduce RAM speed in BIOS by downclocking a bit and check for stability.