What fan to buy

artifexmortis

Honorable
Oct 20, 2012
Hello everyone. I realise my stock cpu fan+heatsink is dying out so I decided to get a new one. The thing is that WHILE I'M AT IT, I thought I might as well overclock my cpu... however since I have never done it before, I'm afraid of buying a fan which won't do well enough/is low budget.

These are my specs:
cpu.jpg

I had my eyes on this one mainly...

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NEW-10cm-Heatpipe-CPU-Cooling-Fan-Intel-Core-i5-i7-Socket-LGA-1156-AMD-K8-Cooler-/320989940492?pt=US_CPU_Fans_Heatsinks&hash=item4abc7dcb0c

But please DO TELL if you recommend something different/better for the job. I plan on doing only a minor overclock since it is my first time so any advice would be great!

I wasn't sure whether to post this thread here or in the overclocking section, fogive me if I happen to be wrong...

artifexmortis

Honorable
Oct 20, 2012
well I must say you've all opened my eyes more...
was thinking about getting the "Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro R2" instead of the 212 evo... because I'm scared I won't be able to fit it into my case.
My case is almost exactly 180 mm wide, and the cooler is 160 mm. I still think that somehow the inside of the case will be shorter and it won't fit... ofc I would definitely go with the EVO 212 if I were 100% sure... what do you guys think, is 180 mm normal for a case?

artifexmortis

Honorable
Oct 20, 2012
this is my case

CITMARSR.jpg

its called mars red.

I am aware that it is "supposed to fit" just about... but even if it does I want to be SURE that its not gonna cause some different kind of problem which I don't know about instead (eg. heatsink too close to the plastic wall and ends up heating the case sides too much or something.. I don't know...)

scottfree1_01

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2012