- 4gb ram ddr3

however, i already have:
-akasa case
- 650i ultra nvidia mobo
- 500w psu
- nvidia 8800gts gpu
- 2 gb ram ddr2
- 500gb hdd

basically, i want to reformat the 320gb drive so i can move everything off the 500gb so that i can use the 500gb on the new mobo with old gpu, case and ddr3 ram.

i understand that u cant just swap hdd around without causing too much strife ... so im asking 'whats the most efficient way of doing this whilst keeping all my programs etc?'

plus, i want to move from vista to win7 - which i have on disk. can i keep the lot, including files, when i transfer?

any advice from u guys would be greatly appreciated. im no expert like u r!

phew! thats a big ask!

First, plug in the new hard drive and boot up on the 320GB drive's Windows so that you can install the driver for the new hard drive. Then, get a program such as MiniTool Partition Wizard Home Edition and use it to copy the 320GB HDD's data to the new hard drive. Then, shut down the computer, unplug the 320GB hard drive, and try to boot off of the 500GB drive. It should work and if it does, you can then leave the 320GB unplugged and on the 500GB drive, reopen the partition wizard, and then extend the 20GB partition to the full 500GB capacity of that hard drive.

After this, you can upgrade from Vista to 7 if the Vista installation version can be upgraded to the 7 version that you have.

However, if you're willing to re-install everything on your computer, you would be better off installing 7 directly onto the 500GB drive, installing all programs again, and then copying over any data from the 320GB drive that you want.

memadmax

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2011
Keeping your files will be easy, the rest not so easy.
The easiest and best way that I can think of is to stick the 320gb hard drive in your old setup, copy all your files that you want to keep on it. Then swap the parts that you want to swap.
Now, the next part is critical.