Sign in with
Your question

2 7900 GTs Used w/some light abuse- Should I be concerned?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 24, 2012 10:22:55 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm talking to a guy to buy 2 old Nvidia GeForce 7900 GTs to run SLI. He switched them out of his system for new cards because he got a graphical error- the new cards had the problem too, and he figured out his power supply wasn't offering enough amperage- he had the 2 7900 GTs (with a DVD drive and a Card Reader as well) on one rail that provided 9a. He said they were running on there for 3 weeks at the most before he had them switched out. Should I be worried about long term damage from them being on that rail for those three weeks? I don't think so, but I'm not an expert, so I figured I'd ask some people who are. Thanks for any help you can give!
a b U Graphics card
April 24, 2012 10:32:41 PM

How much does he want for them?
m
l
April 24, 2012 10:41:59 PM

Somewhere around $50 total. I'm sure I can negotiate him down a bit- I just want to know if realistically there is a concern that they've been damaged being hooked up to the PSU for a couple weeks before I get into brass tacks with him.
m
l
a b U Graphics card
April 24, 2012 10:58:18 PM

Hard to say if there was permanent damage, however I would not even consider buying until you've had a chance to test them first. Also, realise those are DX9 cards, and you will not be able to run DX10 or 11 on those cards.
m
l
April 24, 2012 11:16:36 PM

Hrmm. I was worried that'd be the answer I'd get.

The DX isn't a concern for me- I've made do for 6 years without touching my system. The only reason I'm upgrading it is for Diablo 3, and I'm doing it on a bare-bones budget- DX9 is sufficient, and I'm not considering other games now. I need the thing to work, not be pretty. It'll fit the bill. Thanks for the advice, and if anyone else has anything to add, I'd love to hear it!
m
l
a b U Graphics card
April 24, 2012 11:47:00 PM

Scsaka said: