New Build $1200-$2000 for Noobzilla

aghenry79

Honorable
Jun 19, 2012
Hello all: Long time reader, first time poster. Thanks in advance for your time and consideration in responding to my proposed build.

Approx Purchase Date: June 2012
System Intended for: Gaming and general tomfoolery.
Approximate budget: Budget isn't an option, but I am concerned about price/performance ratio.
If I can upgrade a part and get a noticeable improvement, I am all for it. But
I am not interested in paying more for insignificant gains (obviously).

Disclaimer: I am completely new to this, and have assembled this list by reviewing other's
posts and builds. I am posting to make sure I have not made a drastic
miscalculation. Because of this, I posted my thinking for why I chose each part.

CPU: i5 2550k

The alternative I considered was the i7-3930k. However, I read that the i7 does not offer
any noticeable improvement for gaming, and the main differences between it and the i5
mainly relate to "hyperthreading", which is only useful for those that do video editing. The
i5 will require me to overclock however, but I have been told that there are very
straightforward guides on how to do this. If overclocking is difficult or dangerous, I have
no problem springing for a better processor however.

Mobo: ASUS LGA 1155 Z68-P8Z68-V PRO/GEN 3

Chose this because it was identified as potentially one of the best mobo for i5 and for
overclocking. Also considered Gigabyte Intel Z68 ATX.

Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 @ 1050 Mhz.

Debated between GTX 680 (if available) and 580. But it looked like 670 was much better
than the 580, yet considerably cheaper than the 680 and still based on the same Kepler
technology. Seemed like best price/performance balance.

This is where my research gets sloppy...

RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8gb (4gb x 2).

Read that you don't really need 16. Not a problem if I do though. Also read Corsair the