Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Question about ip address that changed

Last response: in Networking
June 27, 2011 1:02:41 AM

I am not that good at troubleshooting network issue but luckily I was able to figure out a problem I had with internet connection not working through my Linksys router.
I was wondering if someone can answer a question and educate me on this.

My computer is connected hardwire through a wireless router (linksys) and I have 3 wireless devices that connect to the wireless router.
I have had the wireless router for about a year and half. I set it up myself and have had no problems since day one until today.
It was working fine this morning, my computer was on the whole time, I never shut it down and all of a sudden a couple hours later went back to my computer and couldn't access the internet. "No internet access" message on the taskbar right hand side.
Not one of my wireless devices connect to the internet including my desktop that is hardwired.
I tried resetting the modem...no luck. I'm thinking outage or something else that had to do with my cable company. I called them, the lady had me try without the router, worked fine, problem with router.
I called linksys since I am not good at troubleshooting router issues and did not want to reconfigure everything and start from scratch.
The lady at linksys says the router is out of warranty and after a year they cannot provide free tech support and wanted to charge me for either two of their paid tech support which the cheapest was 30 bucks. I said no, i'll figure it out myself.
After some time of trying to figure out the problem I notice my ip address was different.
So I typed IPCONFIG /RENEW and it went back to 192.168.1.100.
Which now everything works fine.

Can someone please tell me how this happened? How did my ip address change.
It was in the middle of the day where my computer was on the whole time and one minute it was working fine, the next no internet connection.

Best solution