I have a doubt about my CPU fan

k3vin_diaz

Honorable
Oct 23, 2012
Hello, cyber-friends. Im new to the tom's hardware community. My goal is to find help about anything about computers and try to help other people in the community.

I have quite some doubts about my CPU fan. When i have the smart fan function enabled, the RPMs lower almost to the 1000rpm range and the CPU (the whole thing, NOT individual cores) starts heating up -_- (around 40ºC) AND, the fan wont kick in when temperature in the cpu begins to rise (that smart fan thing isnt so smart lol). i disabled the smart fan to make it work at 100% all the time. When its disabled, fan runs at 2000rpm. and its okay (cpu temperature lowers to the ambient temperature almost) This happens when the cpu is in IDLE. when i start playing games on the pc, the cpu starts to heat up (we all know its normal), but i would like the fan to speed up the rpms to cool the cpu better. when gaming, cpu (package) rises to almost 40ºC and individual cores get up to 50ºC more or less.

Ive tried a program that came with the motherboard to control the cpu rpms, but at 100% it only works @2000 rpm (sometimes it rises up to + or - 2100 rpm). also, i cant see how to control this through the BIOS, it only lets me activate or deactivate the smart fan thing. ive also tried Speedfan (which everyone recommends) and it doesnt work for me :( ive seen all the tutorials and videos about how to use speedfan and i cant control the cpu fan with speedfan, so for me its useless.

NOW, my questions are: what can i do to control the cpu fan without using speedfan? is there another similar (and user-friendly) software to control the CPU fan speeds?

im not a professional in the computer hardware subject, but i know some stuff.

A little help would be appreciated :) thanks :D

P.S. here are some specs of my PC, if it helps in anything. my pc is custom built by the computer shop where i bought it, and i added some extra things to it :)