Sign in with
Your question

First Build - Final check

Last response: in Systems
June 20, 2012 7:33:12 AM

Hi everyone. This is my first build and I've got a few questions regarding my build. Also any comments or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Approximate Purchase Date: This week

Budget Range: $1400 CDN after rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Surfing the internet, Movies

Parts Not Required: Keyboard, mouse, speakers etc.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg.ca

Parts Preferences: None

Overclocking: Most likely

SLI or Crossfire: Doubt it, maybe down the road. Wouldn't mind keeping my options open here.

Monitor Resolution: 1440 x 900. I'll likely buy something locally for a dual screen setup after assembly so this is subject to change.

Additional Comments: I'm just looking for something that will be able to game for the foreseeable future while not breaking the bank.

Parts List

There's also a $35 discount for the case/PSU combo but i couldn't figure out how to get the combo to show up in the wish list.
Right now my total is coming to $1380 CDN as well as $30 in mail in rebates which is a little below budget but that's fine by me.

My main questions are:

1. Are all the above parts compatible?
2. Are there any components I could swap out for better performance at the same price?

Other questions:

1. Is an 800W PSU overkill? Should I downsize a bit and put more money elsewhere such as the GPU or mobo?
2. Would an Ivy Bridge CPU be better in the long run such as an i5-3570k or does the OC ability of the i5-2500k outweigh the potential benefits?
3. If I'm looking to run a dual screen set up would I be better served by another GPU or is mine fine?

Thanks

More about : build final check

June 20, 2012 8:03:31 AM